10 months

December 21, 2009 at 6:33 pm 1 comment

It’s 4 days until Christmas. You would be 10 months old today. It’s getting tough. I thought I was hanging in there pretty good too. I was a little nervous with Christmas coming. But here is your marker. You would be so big now. Would you be pulling yourself up to stand by now? What would you be doing to my tree? How many teeth? So many new things to experience with you. So many losses other than just your death to also be reminded of. But it comes down to gratitude. Gratitude sounds like such a challenging word at a time like this. Is this even an attainable goal after one loses a child? I know in my head that I have so much to be grateful for. 6 living beautiful children and a husband who is also my best friend. The challenge is getting it to touch my heart when I’m overwhelmed with despair and loss. I am reminded of the saying that grief is a gift. Without experiencing grief, could I even grasp the capacity to love and be loved?

I’ve read that the deeper we have loved the deeper we will grieve. I am shown through this just how much I love you. I’ve also been told by others in trying to help me that since you lived for so short a time and that I never really got to know you, that it should be easier to move on and forget you. How could I ever forget about you? Could a parent ever forget the privelege of loving, caring and cherishing their child? You may have been with me for 9 months within and a couple of hours outside, but I am your mother and I could never forget all those things with you. I feel all the more reason to hang on tight to all those precious memories.

I think of Mary, the mother of my loving and wonderful God and take comfort. She loved Jesus with a pure heart and she had to watch him suffer and die. To bury her only child. She knew from the beginning that her child had a great purpose, but it must have been the most terrible feelings overcoming her to watch her child go through what he had to for salvation. His suffering and death would have left her with a great emptiness that she filled with Gods’ love. She was a brave and faithful woman. I take her words to the depths of my soul as they are quoted in the bible, “But Mary treasured all these things, pondering them in her heart.” (Luke 2:19). I look to Mary as my pillar of strength. I wait for the day that your death shows me its greater purpose.

So when I am filled with so much pain and sadness, I need to be thankful for the wonderful gift of love that you have shown me. To treasure every moment I had with you and ponder them in my heart.

Entry filed under: Effexor, Infant Death, Infant loss, mothers act, Pregnacy, psychiatry, SSRI, Uncategorized.

“My First Christmas in Heaven”

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Christine  |  January 23, 2010 at 11:03 am

    I posted a comment but my computer is acting up and re-starting, and it may have been lost.

    Did you receive it Concerning my having a daughter 22, who died suddenly in her sleep, from what we now know was undiagnosed Long QT Syndrome?

    Please contact me. I have been researching this for 12 years since my daughter, Emilie’s mysterious and sudden death.

    She was a textbook picture of Long QT Syndrome, but many people don’t know they have it until they lose a child or a young adult to SCA (Sudden Cardiac Arrest).

    Contact me. Maybe I can help.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Stop Preventable Infant Deaths: Donate

Click here to lend your support to: Stop Preventable Infant Deaths and Birth Defects and make a donation at www.pledgie.com !

Face To Face With Our Families (MADNAP)

Follow Matthew’s Dad on Twitter

Follow Matthew’s mom on Twitter

  • Is not coping well at all. Loss sucks! 7 years ago
  • is scared to bond with this baby, just in case. 7 years ago
  • Happy 6 months today baby. I love you Matthew. 7 years ago
  • Living with loss, sucks. 7 years ago
  • Thinking I need to discuss plans for this baby soon or I will be having it in my doctors office. Where do I deliver? 7 years ago
Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Angel and Memorial tickers
December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

