Disgusted.

January 22, 2010 at 8:24 pm 5 comments

After going through my 5 year old son’s birth record, I am disgusted to learn that they had lied to me then. If they had told me the truth, I would have weaned 5 years ago. Instead, I am told something else and encouraged to continue my antidepressant use. Because of that, Jacob and Andrew are permanently affected, and Matthew and Simon are dead. How can I feel any other way? I was told that Jacob had a lung infection due to swallowing of merconium and why he needed to stay in NICU for 10 days. But his records clearly state that he did not have a lung infection. The tests proved that. Instead, they have written respiratory problems. He had to stay in an oxygen rich incubator and could not keep up his blood oxygen level. To this day, his blood oxygen level does not surpass a saturaation of 94%. It hovers around 89-90%. Normally we should have oxygen levels of 99-100%. Not to mention the fact that he was born after 9 months of being given Effexor and suddenly quit cold turkey. How cruel. The withdrawal alone could have killed him. They did not let me breastfeed him because he couldn’t come out of his incubator without losing conciousness. Had they let me nurse him, he would have withdrawn from the drug slowly. Instead they tortured him through withdrawal for 6 days before giving him the drug again through allowing me to breastfeed. We have read and reread his file over and over. It is nice to see that Effexor was listed under risk factors on his file, but no one took into account that it gave him PPHN. All the notes made by medical staff point to acute withdrawal and PPHN. They caused my son permanent damage and didn’t tell me what was really going on. I would have weaned then.

I am anxious to get my other boys charts to see if Effexor was listed as a risk factor. I am most eager to get Matthew’s file since he died from PPHN. Had they took the Effexor seriously with the fact that Jacob had it then Matthew could have been saved, maybe. Some babies with known PPHN still can die even with intervention. They should have seen the damage and risks and told me to wean. They still encouraged the antidepressant use after Matthew died to deal with the loss! They even wanted to increase my dose!

My other worry now is Andrew’s severe sleep apnea at 3. Cole has an erratic heartbeat. And Jacob’s poor oxygen levels. I think about all these moms who have lost their babies to SIDS and yet will take antidepressants while they try to get pregnant again. How frustrating for me. The info is there. Serotonin is what controls the autonomic nervous system. That is the system that we do not think about or conciously control. Breathing and heartrate are the main ones. Why in a first world country with some of the best medical care in the world, is SIDS on the rise? Why are SIDS rates higher here than in 3rd world countries? I’m not talking infant mortality rates(although our numbers aren’t impressive), I’m talking SIDS. Because North America has the highest rate of women on antidepressants and antianxietey medication. The numbers are there and nobody wants to see them. SIDS rates have risen along with these medication rates rising. They are even linking SIDS to serotonin levels in the brain stem being off. A baby gets their serotonin levels from their mother while in the womb. So if mommy’s serotonin levels are messed up with an SSRI/SNRI then baby’s are changed. These drugs cause prolonged QT syndrome. That’s where the time between the heartbeat is prolonged. So a baby’s heart will rest between beats, and due to prolonged QT doesn’t start up again. Baby is dead. Quickly and quietly with no warning or signs. SIDS. It’s so simple and yet so many women want to take that chance. Disgusting. How can a woman with a baby she wants to protect poison their unborn baby?

So again. If the hospital and doctors had been honest with me. My boys would be healthy and/or alive. Instead, I have to deal with medical problems and dead children. And there is no excuse. The problems that these drugs cause was known back in 2004 when Jacob was born. It was known long before that too. I think how much better it would be to live in the U.K. where most doctors don’t believe in depression being fixed with a pill (it can’t. there is no test or definitive proof that these drugs even work for depression other than the placebo effect) or ADHD (these drugs just make a child stoned and cause heart problems and central nervous system damage like facial tics) These are made up illnesses so drug companies can make lots of money. It is a racket to the tune of tens of billions of dollars a year, selling drugs that don’t work to a country where people don’t want to take the time to work through the real problem and have the instant “fix” that these drugs promise. They don’t have proof they work and long term use of these meds cause heart damage and other problems. Money is more important than health. And we are at risk.

If in Matthew and Simon’s death, they can save one child, it is well worth it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

“February Twenty-First”

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christine Puricelli  |  January 23, 2010 at 10:24 am

    Please contact me–first by E-mail. I have been researching Long QT Syndrome, since I lost my precious 22 year old daughter 12 years ago, when she died in her sleep from an undiagnosed case.

    I don’t know the particulars of your situation, but I was wondering if there was a connection possibly to Long QT Syndrome.

    After we talk through E-mail, you might even wish to talk on the phone with me.

    Please write me, maybe I can shed some light on all this mystery. I am an R.N. by education and have been researching my own daughter’s death for 12 long years. We have all now been genetically tested and know she died from LQTS. Her autopsy and toxicology were totally negative, and I was pretty much left by my family doctor to find a cause of her mysterious death in her sleep. She had all the classic signs of LQTS–but not everyone is so lucky.

    Yes, they are also seeing more deaths of people from Sudden Cardiac Arrest (SCA) that are being treated with antidepressants and also kids being treated with ADD and ADHD medications. Also methadone had to take out a “Black Box” warning by the FDA–the highest warning from the FDA, about the possibility of lengthening the QT Interval–thus causing heart issues. You can find the list of drugs according to risk at:

    Reply
  • 2. Christine  |  January 24, 2010 at 9:48 am

    The Web Site for the drugs that can affect the QT Interval of the heart is at: http://www.qtdrugs.org

    All people need to be aware of these possible effects, especially if you have a history or family history of cardiac problems, arrhythmias, etc.

    Reply
  • 3. Two Hours With Matthew: Articles One Year Later « BREATH  |  February 21, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    […] Disgusted. […]

    Reply
  • […] Disgusted. […]

    Reply
  • 5. donna  |  March 22, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    Losing my parents was so hard — I can’t even imagine the grief of losing one of my precious children. And you are right — only God can ease the pain.

    I started researching antidepressants awhile back after a dear friend of mine tried to kill herself while taking Paxil. Her bipolar OCD brother had recently died, and the stress of putting all his compulsive, yet irrational, affairs in order led to depression.

    That was how I discovered the issue with birth defects. It’s apalling that doctors are prescribing antidepressants to pregnant women. When I was pregnant, my doctor didn’t even want me to take Tylenal unless it was absolutely necessary.

    Maybe God’s purpose in all of this is for you to become instrumental in making these drug companies and doctors take responsibility for their actions.

    I don’t know if you have an attorney, but you really should get one. Not so much for the money, although I’m sure that would help with all your medical expenses, but more to bring the drug companies into the public eye and make them responsible for the injuries they’ve caused you, your children and countless others.

    It took us awhile to convince her, but my friend finally called a law firm here in Los Angeles. They were so supportive and just chewed the Paxil manufacturers up on the suicide issue. They even testified before the FDA in Washington. They’ve also attacked Paxil regarding birth defects and it looks like they’re about to take on Effexor.

    Email me if you want the name of the law firm. Given your story, I’m sure they can help.

    Don’t let these guys get away with this. They’re not going to stop until they’re forced to.

    dk

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Stop Preventable Infant Deaths: Donate

Click here to lend your support to: Stop Preventable Infant Deaths and Birth Defects and make a donation at www.pledgie.com !

Face To Face With Our Families (MADNAP)

Matthew's Birthday Lanterns Floating Away









More Photos

Follow Matthew’s Dad on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Matthew’s mom on Twitter

  • Is not coping well at all. Loss sucks! 7 years ago
  • is scared to bond with this baby, just in case. 7 years ago
  • Happy 6 months today baby. I love you Matthew. 7 years ago
  • Living with loss, sucks. 7 years ago
  • Thinking I need to discuss plans for this baby soon or I will be having it in my doctors office. Where do I deliver? 7 years ago
Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Angel and Memorial tickers
January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

