Hi Son

February 21, 2010 at 9:34 am 2 comments

This is the text of the letter that I placed in Matthew’s coffin with him.

Hi Son,

Dad Here. Sure was nice getting to know you a little. Sure do wish we could have had just a little more time with you. I hope you were comfy when you went to sleep, I tried to keep you warm as best I could.

You know, you sure would have loved to meet your brothers and sisters, they were all so very eager to meet you. Yeah, okay we would have had the fights over you and the screaming and yelling. But all that love would certainly be worth it.

In the Bible it says “Before I formed you in your mother’s womb, I Knew you.” This passage makes me think about how strong a bond you already had with your siblings even without setting eyes on them.

Every time one of the boys would be hooping and hollering, you’d let mommy know you wanted in on a piece of the action, in no uncertain terms I might add.

I have a few favors to ask of you, not too much I hope. Please watch over your mother and I as we try to do our best raising your brothers and sisters. I ask that you watch over them as well. Especially Cole.

You know he was so excited that you were his buddy, I don’t even think he would have minded that you’re not a girl. Well, since he won’t be able to keep watch over you, I ask you to keep an extra special watch over him. God knows he’s going to need it.

As I write this letter, we are making the final preparations for your funeral. I think this is the hardest thing I will ever have to do in my lifetime. I’ve felt sadness, anger, physical pain. So many questions left unanswered. Soon we will be saying our last Earthly good-byes, but it is by no means permanent.

It’s been five days since I had to let you go, such a short time yet it feels like an eternity already. I can only imagine that the days, months and years to come will likewise feel like an eternity, until that glorious day when we are all reunited in the presence of our Heavenly Father.

One day when we are reunited, I’m sure this will all make sense. Until then I trust Mother Mary will take good care of you, far better than we ever could. I know your soul is free and perfect so I ask that you guide me in wisdom and purity. I hope that I don’t bug you too much talking to you, and likewise please let me know if you’d like to talk with me.

Thank you for the precious few moments that we did have with you.

Rest well my son. I Love you with my whole heart.

Daddy.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

“February Twenty-First” To Matthew on your 1st Birthday

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Stop Preventable Infant Deaths: Donate

Click here to lend your support to: Stop Preventable Infant Deaths and Birth Defects and make a donation at www.pledgie.com !

Face To Face With Our Families (MADNAP)

Matthew's Birthday Lanterns Floating Away









More Photos

Follow Matthew’s Dad on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Matthew’s mom on Twitter

  • Is not coping well at all. Loss sucks! 7 years ago
  • is scared to bond with this baby, just in case. 7 years ago
  • Happy 6 months today baby. I love you Matthew. 7 years ago
  • Living with loss, sucks. 7 years ago
  • Thinking I need to discuss plans for this baby soon or I will be having it in my doctors office. Where do I deliver? 7 years ago
Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Angel and Memorial tickers
February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

